THE LETHAL CROSSROADS- DO YOU HAVE A CAREER OR ARE YOU PURSUING YOUR CALLING?

Standard

Image

 

(the difference between just a career and your CALLING is what this blog is all about)

HAPPY READING!!!!

There  are only a few stages in one’s life which can be compared to this crucial stage:

When you have got your class 12 result…(and you have passed)

Now its the career choice that you or rather your parents (read the entire neighbourhood and a few close relatives )make, lets  face it, at 18 one hardly has the good sense, experience and maturity to choose something as big as a career, wisely. I am not talking about those select few who are absolutely sure of what they want to become, we all have amidst us those cousins, friends etc  who are future Ram Jethmalanis , Hippocrates reincarnated, Shakespeare personified and are pretty sure of what they want to be, they also have the skill, perseverance, dedication and diligence to realise their calling and their destiny but these dhamaakedar prodigies are very few and far between. 90% of us are absolutely clueless regarding this issue of utmost importance, these students are either blindfoldedly  living the expectations of someone else or are a victim of the herd mentality and by the time they do realise their true calling a lot of them have kids of their own, end result- akhand frustration.

Now, I am no authority to speak on this very important and pressing issue but even as boards end this year and thousands of young minds are thrust into the bottleneck  where only a few will emerge as truly accomplished(in the eyes of the world)  I just want to reach out to them and tell them a few things, things that I did not  know back then , things that I learnt after paying a heavy price emotionally, mentally and physically. Here’s  my story, I was a bright student  who wanted to pursue English Literature as my career ,when I was in class 12, I was faced with the same dilemma of choosing the path of my heart or succumbing to the oft  trod secure path, I chose the latter, not a very big mistake as per my age but I blame no one not even me for my career choice, so I went on to become a dentist and after 6 years of studying the enamel  coated dentine containing thousands of blood vessels, battling it out with Chlamydomonas, fretting over the shape of the central incisor carved in wax, losing my sleep, health, hair over physiology, anatomy, orthodontics, periodontics and in short everything under the sun about the seemingly insignificant 32 of the smile battalion I realised I WAS MISERABLE AS A DENTIST, not because I was bad at handling patients or anything, but I WAS NOT HAPPY, I was not happy bending wires, adjusting braces, making dentures, cleaning cavities, the profession is very noble, I have nothing against it, I love spreading smiles just that my path of spreading smiles is through teaching and writing 😛 Different strokes for different folks. There are happy dentists who do great work, there are happy lawyers, businessmen,engineers happy people all have one thing in common they have followed their heart, I don’t know why and how but it knows  from the very start where you should be and here I will not call it career but calling. A few brainstorming  questions  I have found very helpful in telling me what I want to be are these:

WHAT IS THAT ONE THING YOU CAN DO HAPPILY, GLADLY  CONTINUOUSLY  WITHOUT REALISING WHERE TIME HAS FLOWN?

WHAT IS THAT ONE THING YOU CAN HAPPILY CONTINUE TO DO FOR 7 TO 8 HRS EVERYDAY FROM TODAY TILL THE END OF YOUR LIFE?

WHAT IS THAT ONE THING WHERE YOUR HEART AND A MEANS OF EARNING  MONEY  JOIN?

WHAT IS YOUR CALLING?

And trust me, after these soul searching questions if you feel  like Remy, the mouse in “Ratatouille”, or have the urge of picking up the camera and pursuing  photography DO IT. Dont think too much, realise your calling and then follow your passion, then do not compromise, if you want to become a fashion designer, work really hard, clear the entrance, reach the best college, study your passion and let the world see what immense potential lies in you, then the world will be your canvas where your free spirit will paint the picture of your dreams and then these very people who doubted your ability of being successful will applaud and say ”i ALWAYS KNEW SHE/HE WAS DIFFERENT ” 😀

 

 

Feel free to share this blog, I want to tell every youngster my story so that he or she does not suffer and  avoids the chaos and pathos that I had to face, listen to your heart, it somehow already knows where the treasure of your happiness is buried.

P.S. I HOPE THIS HELPS YOU IN TELLING A FEW PEOPLE WHO MATTER THAT YOU KNOW WHAT YOU WANT TO BE AND NO SHARMA, VERMA OR WHATEVER HIS SURNAME IS KA SON OR DAUGHTER CAN BE YOUR IDOL, YOU ARE YOUNIQUE, AND THAT’S THE WAY IT WAS MEANT TO BE 🙂 🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

